WIN Awards 2012

Lisa Kudrow Presents WIN Award to Maria Arena Bell of “Young and Restless”


Artist, philanthropist and Emmy-winning writer Maria Arena Bell received the Humanitarian Award from the Women’s Image Network at the 2012 WIN Awards, held Dec. 12 at Paramount Studios. WIN promotes positive onscreen images of women.

Lisa Kudrow of “Web Therapy,” “Hanging Up” and “Friends” presented the award to Bell, who had been head writer and executive producer of “The Young and The Restless.” Bell also founded Vitameatavegamin Productions.

Bell has been a dedicated supporter of the arts and arts education through her work with PS Arts, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Americans for the Arts and other organizations. Recently, Mayor Antonio Villaragosa nominated Bell to the Los Angeles Cultural Affairs Commission.

The WIN Awards celebrate film, advertising and television artists who advance equal rights, gender equality and dignity by creating multi-dimensional, onscreen female images. Awards were given in twelve categories – winners and nominees are listed below.

“Baby Daddy” star Melissa Peterman, aka Barbra Jean on “Reba,” and Bruce Vilanch, co-author of 23 Academy Awards telecasts, co-hosted the affair. As a special highlight, Diana DeGarmo of “American Idol” performed for the crowd.

Also in attendance were Ace Young, Christopher McDonald, Lauralee Bell, Nadine Velazquez, Beverly Johnson, Timothy Greenfield-Sanders, Tarina Tarantino, Ann Serrano Lopez, George Kotsiopoulos, Steve Cojocaru, Genie Francis, Jamie Luner, Allee Willis, and Eric Braeden.

Here are this year’s WIN Award winners and nominees:

Comedy Series: Veep (HBO); 
Other nominees: Desperate Housewives (ABC); Up All Night (NBC); Parks & Recreation (NBC); and Whitney (NBC)

Actress Comedy Series: Whitney Cummings (Whitney); Other nominees: Amy Poehler (Parks & Recreation) Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Veep) Christina Applegate (Up All Night) Lily Tomlin (Eastbound & Down)

Made for Television Movie: Game Change (HBO); Other nominees: Five (Lifetime)
; The Girl (HBO)
; Hemingway & Gellhorn (HBO); Of Two Minds (Lifetime)

Actress Made for Television Movie: Nicole Kidman (Hemingway & Gellhorn); Other nominees: Patricia Clarkson (Five); Julianne Moore (Game Change); 
Kristin Davis (Of Two Minds); 
Sienna Miller (The Girl); 
Jeanne Tripplehorn (Five)

Drama Series winner: Smash (NBC); Other nominees: Scandal (ABC); 
Grimm (NBC)
; Boardwalk Empire (HBO); The Newsroom (HBO)

Actress Drama Series: Katharine McPhee (Smash); Other nominees: Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones); Kelly MacDonald (Boardwalk Empire); Olivia Munn (The Newsroom)
; Debra Messing Smash

Reality Series: 
Pit Bulls and Parolees (Animal Planet); Other nominees: Whale Wars (Animal Planet); 
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO Sports); River Monsters (Animal Planet); 
Best Ink (Oxygen)

Film / Show Written By A Woman: Raelle Tucker (True Blood); Other nominees: Vanessa Taylor (Hope Springs)
; Tina Fey (30 Rock); 
Gwyneth Hughes (The Girl); 
Barbara Turner [& Jerry Stahl] (Hemingway & Gellhorn); Lena Dunham (Girls)

Film / Show Directed By A Woman: Susanna White (Boardwalk Empire); Other nominees: Nicole Holofcener (Enlightened); Lesli Linka Glatter (The Newsroom); Lena Dunham (Girls)

Show/Film Produced By A Woman: Jennifer Aniston, Paula Wagner, Marta Kauffman, Kristin Hahn & Francesca Silvestri (Five)
; Other nominees: Whitney Cummings (Whitney); 
Amanda Jenks, Helena Ely, Genevieve Hofmeyr, Lucy Richer, Leanne Klein (The Girl); 
Emily Spivey (Up All Night); 
Teri Kennedy (Best Ink)
; Chelsea Handler (Chelsea Lately)

Documentary Film: About Face: Supermodels Then and Now; Other nominees: E! True Hollywood Story: Giuliana Rancic; True Hollywood Story: Joan & Melissa; 
E! Entertainment Special: LeAnn Rimes

Advertising/ winner: “Mean Stinks” Leo Burnett
; Other nominees: “Blind Spot” Leo Burnett;
 “Push Girls” Sundance Channel
; “Raccoon” Leo Burnett
; “Best Job” Weiden+Kennedy, Portland
; “Release The Hounds” Venables Bell & Partners; “Wayne” Venables Bell & Partners
; “What Will You Gain When You Lose?” Leo Burnett; School Play” Venables Bell & Partners


Top photo: Humanitarian Award recipient Maria Arena Bell, left, and presenter Lisa Kudrow, right, at the WIN Awards 2012

Second photo: Co-hosts Melissa Peterman and Bruce Vilanch at the WIN Awards 2012

Third photo: Ace Young and Diane DeGarmo of “American Idol” at the WIN Awards 2012

Fourth photo: Producer Ann Serrano Lopez and jewelry designer Tarina Tarentino at the WIN Awards 2012

All photos by Michael Bezjian



Tippi Hedren, Kate Linder and Erin Murphy, aka “Tabitha,” Celebrate 50th Anniversary Book by Magic Castle Co-Founder Milt Larsen

ANYTHING GOES Greeted with Enthusiasm, Opening Night at the Ahmanson Theatre in Los Angeles

Reese Witherspoon, Michelle Monaghan, Conan O’Brien, Elisabeth Shue, Zoe Saldana, Trey Thompkins Celebrate Teens Who “Beat the Odds”

Let the Kids Grow Holiday Gala Honors Dwight Howard, Romeo Miller, KPWR’s Big Boy and More  

Hollywood Makeup Artists and Costume Designers Catch Up with an Idol, at “A Conversation With Edith Head”

WIN Awards 2012

Published Dec. 19, 2012 – Society News LA